Cluster Munition Monitor 2019

Contamination and Clearance

As of 1 August 2019, a total of 26 states and three other areas are contaminated by cluster munition remnants.[1] This includes 12 States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions, two signatories, and 12 non-signatories. It is unclear whether one State Party and one non-signatory are contaminated.[2] Most of these countries continue to work toward clearing all cluster munition-contaminated areas, however this list is unchanged from that published in the previous Cluster Munition Monitor edition, as no country completed clearance in 2018 or 2019.[3]


* Contamination exists in areas outside of government control. There may be minimal contamination in areas under government control.

** Non-signatory Argentina and State Party UK both claim sovereignty over the Falkland Islands/Malvinas, where any cluster munition contamination is likely within mined areas.

Note: States Parties to the Convention on Cluster Munitions are indicated in bold; signatories are underlined; other areas are in italics.


Previously, eight States Parties completed the clearance of their cluster munition-contaminated areas under the Convention on Cluster Munitions: Albania, the Republic of the Congo, Grenada, Guinea-Bissau, Mauritania, Mozambique, Norway, and Zambia. One signatory, Uganda, and one non-signatory, Thailand, also completed clearance of areas contaminated by cluster munition remnants in previous years.

Under the Convention on Cluster Munitions, each State Party is obliged to clear and destroy all cluster munition remnants in areas under its jurisdiction or control as soon as possible but not later than 10 years after becoming party to the convention. If unable to complete clearance in time, the State Party may request deadline extensions for periods of up to five years.

Article 4 deadlines under the Convention on Cluster Munitions


Article 4 clearance deadline


1 March 2022


1 March 2021


1 September 2023


1 June 2021


1 August 2020


1 August 2020


1 August 2020


1 November 2023


1 May 2021


1 August 2020


1 March 2026


1 November 2020


Two States Parties have submitted extension requests to be considered for the upcoming Ninth Meeting of States Parties in Geneva 2-4 September 2019. This is the first time such requests have been made, as the first clearance deadlines are 1 August 2020.

Germany has requested a five-year extension until August 2025 to clear a former military training area at Wittstock.[4] In its request, it indicated it should be able to conclude this work by 2024.

Lao PDR also requested a five-year extension until August 2025.[5] One of two countries in the world with massive contamination (more than 1,000km2), it has indicated that survey will be one of the priorities of work during the extension period, with the expectation that additional international support will be needed.


[1] States Parties with cluster munition remnants: Afghanistan, BiH, Chad, Chile, Croatia, Germany, Iraq, Lao PDR, Lebanon, Montenegro, Somalia, and the UK; signatories: Angola and DRC; non-signatories: Azerbaijan, Cambodia, Iran, Libya, Serbia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Tajikistan, Ukraine, Vietnam, and Yemen; and other areas: Kosovo, Nagorno-Karabakh, and Western Sahara.

[2] It is unclear whether there is cluster munition contamination in State Party Colombia and non-signatory Georgia.

[3] At the time of finalizing this publication, some original research on contamination and clearance was not yet available to the Monitor. As that information becomes available, updates will be made to country profiles and other resources.

[4] Germany, Convention on Cluster Munition Article 4 Extension Request 15 January 2019, and

[5] Lao PDR, Convention on Cluster Munition Article 4 Extension Request, Executive Summary, 26 February 2019, and